Protection Status

Home for Latest News and General Updates

What are the geographic zones of africa


Jan 29, 2024
Spread the love

What are the 5 geographical zones in Africa?

The United Nations’ Geoscheme divides the continent into 5 distinct subregions, Northern Africa, West Africa, Middle Africa, East Africa, and Southern Africa. Northern Africa is the largest of the subregions by land area, while Southern Africa is the smallest.

What are the zones of Africa?

The five UN subregions:

  • Northern Africa.
  • Sub-Saharan Africa. Eastern Africa. Middle Africa. Southern Africa. Western Africa.

Are there 53 countries in Africa?

The 53 countries in alphabetical order are: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Ivory Coast, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, …

Are there 54 or 55 countries in Africa?

The total number of independent states in Africa is 54. The transcontinental country in this region is Egypt, also having a small part of its territory in Asia, on the other side of the Suez Canal, but politically it is a member of the African Union.

How many climate zones are in Africa?

four climate zones

Nov 30, · Sub-Saharan Africa has four climate zones: desert, semiarid or Sahel, savanna (grasslands), and tropical forests.

What are the 6 regions of Africa?

Within the African Union, there are 6 regions: North Africa, West Africa, Central Africa, East Africa, Southern Africa, plus one last region, the “Sixth Region“, which constitutes the African Diaspora.

Is Africa in the east or west?

The continent is bounded on the west by the Atlantic Ocean, on the north by the Mediterranean Sea, on the east by the Red Sea and the Indian Ocean, and on the south by the mingling waters of the Atlantic and Indian oceans. Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc.

What are the three physical zones of Africa?

Africa has eight major physical regions: the Sahara, the Sahel, the Ethiopian Highlands, the savanna, the Swahili Coast, the rain forest, the African Great Lakes, and Southern Africa.

What are the four climate zones of West Africa?

What are the four climate zones of West Africa quizlet?

  • humid tropical – Atlantic coast and Gulf of Guinea.
  • tropical savanna – south of the Sahel.
  • desert – Sahara desert; northenmost zone.
  • steppe – south of Sahara, semiarid strip of land called Sahel.

What are the climate zones?

The Earth has three main climate zones: tropical, temperate, and polar.

Where is the geographic center of Africa?

The centre point is in the Democratic Republic of Congo, again middle of uninhabited jungle. The point is about 115 kilometres southeast from the town of Kisangani. The nearest settlement of any size appears to be Babogombe, 60 km west of the point.

What are 3 major geographical features?

The three major geographical features are mountains, rivers and deserts.

What are the main geographic features of Sub-Saharan Africa’s four parts?

It also includes most of the countries and peoples of the continent. Sub-Saharan Africa has many geographic features, including the Sahel region, savannahs, arid lowland terrain, and tropical rainforests. It also includes the longest rivers and largest lakes on the continent.

What is the longitudinal extent of Africa?

Answer: Latitudinal Extent of Africa is 370N to 350S whereas the longitudinal extent being 510E to 160W.

What is a geographic Centre?

The geographic center of an area may be defined as the center of gravity of the surface, or that point on which the surface of the area would balance if it were a plane of uniform thickness.

How do you find the geographic center of an area?

It turns out there are many ways to find the center of geographic locations. The easiest way is to average all of the longitude points and average all of the latitude points. This can optionally be weighted by the number of people at each point by taking a weighted mean.

Why are coastal plains absent in Africa?

Answer: A large part of the East African coastal plain which is low-lying is very variable in width. The coast is relatively unindented because of the absence of large rivers. … These coastal plains are almost absent in some areas, for example in Seychelles.

Which part of Africa is the most mountainous?

Mount Kilimanjaro

Within its regular outline, it comprises an area of 30,368,609 km2 (11,725,385 sq mi), excluding adjacent islands. Its highest mountain is Mount Kilimanjaro, its largest lake is Lake Victoria.


RangeEastern Rift volcanoes
Height (m)5895
Height (ft)19,340

What is the shape of Africa?

Geographically, Africa resembles a bulging sandwich. The sole continent to span both the north and south temperate zones, it has a thick tropical core lying between one thin temperate zone in the north and another in the south. That simple geographic reality explains a great deal about Africa today.

Which ocean is east of Africa?

Atlantic Ocean

The Atlantic Ocean lies between North and South America on the west and Europe and Africa on the east.

Which provinces have coastline in South Africa?

This is a list of seaside resorts in South Africa. These seaside resorts are in the Eastern Cape, KwaZulu-Natal, Northern Cape and Western Cape provinces which are all coastal provinces of South Africa.

What ocean borders South Africa?

Q: What oceans border South Africa? A: The Indian Ocean and the South Atlantic Ocean.

Which Sea is north of Africa?

Mediterranean Sea

Table 1.2. Continent boundaries Africa is the continent bordered to the north by the Mediterranean Sea, to the west by the Atlantic ocean basin, and to the east by the Red Sea and the Indian ocean basin.

By admin